17 Replies Latest reply on 28-Mar-2018 11:44 AM by kmaggirias

Minds On: Introduce Yourself!

teachontario.team

To begin, take a minute and introduce yourself to the rest of the group. How concerned are you about your digital footprint?

• Re: Minds On: Introduce Yourself!
          kmaggirias

Welcome to our March book club! I am Kelly Maggirias and may I say, very excited to be facilitating Nora Young's The Virtual Self! I am looking forward to the upcoming insightful discussions we will be sharing. I am concerned about my digital footprint as an educator, parent and individual. From 1 to 10 I would give it a 7. Trying to manage myself as well as the children that I am responsible for can be stressful. The internet is a HUGE and Endless space.

Kelly

keb_hutchison

Hi! My name is Kathleen Hutchison and I am a Grade 6 classroom teacher.  I don't generally post a lot of information about my self, but I admit that I use social media websites to keep track of and aware of what is going on with others around me.  I am also aware that even if I am not posting about myself, there are many posts made by others in which I am involved, cited or pictured.  As a parent of two young adults, I am concerned about their digital footprints.  It is second nature for them to Snapchat and Instagram every moment of their lives - I sometimes wonder how much is too much?

Kathleen

kmaggirias

Hi Kathleen,

Welcome to our book club! I can completely relate to your concerns about screen time. I’m finding that it is a constant worry about how much screen time our children/youth should have. I’m finding thay between school and home we sometimes spend a substantial amount of time on screens. Should we be limiting our own use as well?

Looking forward to our discussions!

keb_hutchison

Hi Kelly