3 Replies Latest reply on 16-Feb-2018 8:50 AM by aking

Week One: Question #1

teachontario.team

Equity in education is a hot topic in Ontario right now. Vilson’s book deals with his experiences in NYC. What evidence of inequity do we see in Ontario classrooms?

• Re: Week One: Question #1
          toniduval

I know we don't have a private/charter/public system but I do see disparity between public schools depending on their geographic region. There are schools with very active school councils that access community partners to bring large cash amounts into schools beyond the school budgets.  These schools end up with cutting technology and equipment.  Students in schools without these large cash investments rely on regular school budgets and often have the expectation to access the same resources.  It creates an inequitable system. I work in a school with almost no school council engagement, our teachers used to resent this lack of engagement from the community.  Over the years we have come to understand the working situations of many of our families, which prevent them from attending meetings.  We also know language barriers contribute to the feeling of alienation from the school system.  We have realized that organized school events are very well attended, so while we think parents are disengaged from their child's education, in fact they make every effort to come to other school events.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              librarykate