50 Replies Latest reply on 8-Dec-2017 1:33 PM by mister_pamayah

Social Leadia: Book Club Introductions

teachontario.team

Whether you have started reading or not take a few minutes to introduce yourself. Use the introduction discussion to tell us about yourself and what you hope to learn in this book club. Here are some points to cover in your introduction:

• Your name, school and teaching position.
      • Describe your online presence. What social media tools do you use?
      • What would be your end goal of this book study? What do you want to take away?
        • Re: Social Leadia: Book Club Introductions
          mister_pamayah

My name is Darren.  I will be your book club facilitator for Social Leadia.  I am a teacher-librarian with York Region District School Board at Herbert H. Carnegie Public School. I am also a councilor with Ontario School Library Association.

In terms of the social media tools that I use, my main focus has been with twitter.  I have used facebook, instagram and twitter for personal use but in 2015, while taking my Librarianship Part 2 course, I was challenged to think about the professional development implications of having a twitter account that I use mainly for work.  It is in this @mister_library account that I share current practices, ‘retweet’ ideas I believe in and ‘like’ ideas I plan to try.  It has been a positive influence on my practice and has greatly influenced the effectiveness of the library space I work in.

Many of the ideas that Jennifer shares in Social Leadia resonated with me and I immediately found practical implications for using the book with my students and staff.  I’m looking forward to learning with you all and appreciate the insights and experiences you will share.  I’m hoping to take away many more practical ideas. 

jencassatodd

Thanks for leading this, Darren. Looking forward to the discussions and the learning.

aking

Greetings and salutations, friends (new and old),