47 Replies Latest reply on 8-Mar-2018 8:26 PM by mulcasterm

Introductions

teachontario.team

Tell us a bit about yourself and what you're hoping to learn in this course!

• Re: Introductions
          angelo

Hi Everyone,

My name is Angelo Mizzi and I am a Kindergarten teacher at Bendale Jr. P.S. in Scarborough, ON.  I am very excited to take this course because I would like to learn more about makerspaces and how to use technology and different makerspace apps. The makerspace apps sound very exciting and are all new to me. I would love to incorporate my learning from this course in my class. My students love making and I am looking forward to this course so I can introduce new learning opportunities to them.

Take care, Angelo

donnad

Hello there. I am Donna Davie. I teach a Grade 3/4 class at Montague Public School just outside of Smiths Falls (approx. half way between Ottawa and Kingston). I am hoping this course will help me integrate subject areas in a combined classroom while meeting expectations specific to their grade level and curriculum. Finding it tough to teach math, language, science, social studies, health/phys ed,and all of the arts. And I'm desperately wanting to put the fun back in learning!

mulcasterm

Hi Donna, very nice to meet you. Thank you for joining us. I wholeheartedly agree with you - we need to bring the fun back to learning! How can we bring the fun back to learning if our students never have any time to explore? Reminds me of a quote by Papert:

We often treat children as if they're not very competent to do anything on their own. So we make them stop learning in a natural way -- by exploring.