76 Replies Latest reply on 5-Feb-2017 6:36 PM by dianamali

Introduce yourself & start the conversation!

teachontario.team

Tell us a bit about yourself and what you hope to learn in this book club...

After you've introduced yourself, move on to Page Two of the course here.

• Re: Introduce yourself & start the conversation!
          ronnockoch

Hello!

My name is Connor and I am a Teacher Candidate at Laurentian University in Sudbury. I have a degree in history and have previously used The Secret Path in a classroom to help introduce students to the horrors of residential schools.

I want to learn how best to apply this graphic novel to different age groups; and different activities which can be done with it (literacy analysis; art projects, process drama).

-Connor

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              aking

HI Connor and Diana,

I'm a teacher-librarian in a big rural secondary school in Orangeville with the Upper Grand District School Board.  I love the arts and taught drama, media arts and English before moving into the library.  As such, I already know Jeff Lemire's artwork from his graphic novels so I really wanted to read this book anyway!  I think of my relationship with The Tragically Hip as growing up with them as Gord and the guys were touring universities when I first started university in 1990.  Now that his whole life is on display I am thrilled to see that he's still using his lyric-writing superpower for good in this book.  What better way to explore a book than with like-minded booklovers in this club.  I hope to be inspired to use this book with my secondary staff and students.

dianamali

Hi Connor, and welcome to the book club,

Your prior experience with this book will be very helpful. You'll have to let us know what the response was like when you introduced Secret Path with your students. How old were your students?

Diana

leah.kearney