1 2 3 First Previous 118 Replies Latest reply on 7-Dec-2017 8:08 PM by dianamali

Post Your Avatar and Say Hello!

teachontario.team

Welcome to Panels, Gutters & Bubbles: Introduction to Comics for Educators!Diana avatar.jpg

Post your avatar in a response to this discussion thread below and tell us about yourself and what brought you to this course.

Be sure to also include some details about yourself, such as:

• Who are you?
      • Where/what are you teaching?
      • What intrigued you to take this course?
      • What do you hope to learn?
      • How can we best support you?
      • What do you like to read when given a choice? What are your other hobbies or interests?

Please also comment on your comic representation. (e.g. How hard or easy was it to make? Does it look like you?)

--Diana Maliszewski

• 1. Re: Post Your Avatar and Say Hello!

Hi Diana!

bitmoji.jpg

I am Karen Bridson. I'm a Digital Media Producer at TeachOntario.

Comics and graphic novels have kept my son reading into his teens so far. And my husband, a fiction writer, loves them too.

I'm here to find out all the best comics and graphic novels and to see how they can be used in the classroom.

• 2. Re: Post Your Avatar and Say Hello!
            leah.kearney

Screen Shot 2016-11-21 at 1.27.10 PM.png

Hi everyone, my name is Leah and I am very excited about this course. I work at TVO as an Instructional Liaison and am on secondment from Toronto District School Board. I am a big fan of graphic novels and am married to a big fan of comic books and am keen to learn more about how they can be used to engage students and foster rich learning. I fell in love with The Snowman by Raymond Briggs in the 1980's (am I dating myself here?) and I have remained excited about the genre ever since. I want to be a support to other educators who are beginning to work in this way and have started to incorporate graphic novels and comics into their classrooms. Looking forward to learning with you!