76 Replies Latest reply on 25-Jun-2017 1:32 PM by andrusis

Introduce Yourself! (Autumn Session - On Now)

mulcasterm

Welcome to Makerspaces: On the Spot & On a Dime!

For all participants who are new please take a moment to tell us a little about yourself!

• Who are you?
      • Where/what are you teaching?
      • What intrigued you to take this course?
      • What do you hope to learn?
      • How do you hope to use this learning?
      • How can we best support you?
      • What hobbies/passions do you currently enjoy?
      • What social media do you use for your PLN? (and what is your handle?)

Click on "Reply" to introduce yourself.

To see the introductions from the Summer Course, please click here:

Introduce Yourself! (Summer Session)

click here to return to main course page

• Re: Introduce Yourself! (Autumn Session)
          lfrabott

Hello everyone!

My name is Lucy and I am a teacher-librarian for the HWDSB. My goal for this year is to learn as much as I can about makerspaces so that I can effectively implement it into my library programming. I'm really looking forward to learning more about how I can set-up the library to facilitate this and how to actually get the kids to start tinkering and creating! I have already started by borrowing robots (ozobot, Dash, cubulets) from our board's Discovery Centre and have given students in grades 3-5 the opportunity to tinker with them and make them work. I did zero front-loading and so far, they have been able to figure them out themselves. They are totally engaged and excited!

At present, I do not have any active, professional social media accounts. Should I change this for this course?

Looking forward to learning with all of you!

-Lucy

• Re: Introduce Yourself! (Autumn Session)
              mulcasterm

Hi Lucy,