Artist Tyler Andre's Bio

Version 1

    "Ndizhinikaaz Tyler Andre, I am 12 years old in Grade 6 at Sir James Dunn Public School. I live in Wawa, ON, and am a proud member of Michipicoten First Nation. My mother is Nancy Andre and my father is Martin Andre. I have 3 brothers, Brandon who is 21, Kyle is 12 he's my twin, my little brother Brett is 9 and my baby sister Raina who is 7. I also have a nephew who I just love. He is 2 and his name is Kalum. I have 1 dog named Nimikee, my cat Bailey and our hamster Migizi.

     

    I really love music and the outdoors; I enjoy hunting and fishing with my dad, hiking in the bush trail or no trail, swimming, 4 wheeling, ice fishing and just playing outside. I also enjoy playing hockey. I am starting my 2nd year in Peewee for the Wawa travelers this September. In the Little Native Hockey League I play for Aamjiwnaang Jr. Hitmen.

     

    In school I really show pride of who I am as an Anishinaabek, I like to show people the native crafts I learned and I love to paint and draw. I like to share my knowledge of my teachings I learned to my fellow students and teachers and anyone else that will listen. I love listening to stories and legends from our elders at our annual Youth and Elders Gathering and anytime I can. I help out and volunteer at the Gathering, Pow-wow and our annual Youth Haunted Trail. I love to drum on my hand drum all the time and learn new songs I search up on the Internet or YouTube. I am also eager to learn songs for the big pow-wow drum so I can start singing at next year's pow-wow on my own drum." -- Tyler Andre